This new SharePoint experience is amazing!

Does it ever feel like a month is going by too slowly? That’s how this month has felt. Copilot for SharePoint is rolling out, but I’ve yet to see it in my tenant. I have gotten the new SharePoint start page, and the new content pane, though. I’ve already recorded a new video on the content pane which will go live in a few weeks. It’s actually really really good! Such a great editing experience compared to the old experience.

As I work through various copilot-related projects with clients, the thing I hear about the most is that they aren’t ready for AI. They’ve put off applying proper data governance. They have things that are overshared, unsecured or scattered across the tenant. It’s something a lot of us saw coming from a mile away. If that’s you, I promise that this issue will get worse sooner than later until you get it under control. AI isn’t going anywhere, and while something like SharePoint Premium’s features are much more tolerant of oversharing, anything Copilot-related is not. I have a feeling Microsoft is pushing Copilot to your tenant regardless of whether you buy licenses for Copilot for M365.

I highly recommend you get sensitivity labels applied, get oversharing under control, and lock down your sensitive data as soon as you get a chance. You’ll thank me later.

Make sure to forward this email to a friend who needs to stay up to date as well!

Steve

ROADMAP
SharePoint: Microsoft Syntex - Update to Microsoft Syntex translation

If you’re using this feature of SharePoint Premium, you’ll soon be able to translate to multiple languages in a single request! This is such a great quality of life feature. This will begin rolling out in October 2024. Link to roadmap 

SharePoint: Enhancing SharePoint document translation with glossary feature

This feature is a little confusing. It will allow a glossary to be used to improve translations. It’s designed to improve the translation of industry-specific terms. I’ll need to see this in action to really understand it, though. Look for this to roll out in October as well. Link to roadmap

SharePoint: New SharePoint Start

The brand new SharePoint start page is rolling out already! I checked my tenant and I have it. It looks pretty cool! This new experience is going to help users create content easier and just give SharePoint an overall facelift if you ask me. Link to roadmap

I’ve gotten so much great feedback lately about my signature course, and I appreciate you all. My students have learned how JSON formatting works and it’s paying off big time in their careers. Will you be next? Enroll now!

BLOG

Canadian Wow GIF by DJ Khaled

This post talks about two very different approaches to AI with Microsoft 365. One is a bit pricey, while the other is underrated!

VIDEOS

ADDITIONAL INFO
When you’re ready, here are ways I can help you…

Thanks for checking out this edition of SharePoint Insights! Share this with a friend who can use this information as well! Until next time…

Reply

or to participate.